Tuesday, May 14, 2013

It's Monday! What Are You Reading? #1

                                           



                                    3

                                   This feature is hosted by Book Journey.

                                      



Received book from Netgalley
It's not easy being a girl. It's even harder when you're the only girl in a family of werewolves. But it's next to impossible when your very existence spells out the doom of your race... Meet Jessica McClain -- she just became part of the pack.

In the vein of Kelley Armstrong and Patricia Briggs, a new urban fantasy that rewrites the werewolf myth...


                                           

Received book from Netgalley
A music-obsessed, slightly snarky New York City girl, Lexi is on her own. After making a huge mistake--and facing a terrible tragedy--Lexi has no choice but to track down her long-absent mother. Rumor has it that Lexi's mom is somewhere in Florida, at the winter quarters of a traveling circus.


When Lexi arrives at her new, three-ring reality, her mom isn't there, but her destiny might be. Surrounded by tigers, elephants, and trapeze artists, Lexi finds some surprising friends and an even more surprising chance at true love. She even lucks into a spot as the circus's fortune teller, reading tarot cards and making predictions.

But then Lexi's ex-best friend from home shows up, and suddenly it's Lexi's own future that's thrown into question.

With humor, wisdom, and a dazzlingly fresh voice, this debut reminds us of the magic of circus tents, city lights, first kisses, last heartaches, and the importance of an excellent playlist.



                                                   The Genesis (Blood of Ages, #1)

Received Book by author
The vampires of Dayson city are preparing for war. Having lived in constant fear of the Archway Corporation for decades, desperation has forced them into action. Their solution is to bring the First vampire, Alistair, back from the dead, a warrior famed for eradicating entire armies in the name of his kind.


For fledgling vampire Catrina Malinka, the fabled return of some unknown deity falls low on her list of concerns. Between fending off strangers trying to kill her in her dreams and trying to rein in an uncontrollable power that no one else even understands let alone shares, Catrina is forced to fight her assumed role in the war against Archway, which threatens to send her down a path she doesn't want to travel.

The first book in The Blood of Ages series, "The Genesis" is an urban fantasy about the inescapable nature of Fate and the corruption of power.





                                                    

Received Book from author
Is there a way to describe the ties that bind us together? What

happens when one of those ties is unexpectedly severed? Can
everything else remain the same? Will the other ties hold strong?

Two years after her little brother's death, sixteen year old Emerson
Caulfield returns to a home that she spent the last two years missing.
In theory, everything should be the same. Her best friend, Matt,
still lives next door. Her house is in the exact same condition as
they left it. The scenery and hallways haven't changed, yet for
Emerson, everything is completely different. The place may be the
same, but Emerson is most certainly not. She returns home hurt,
angry, and miles away from the girl she once was.

The 60,000 word novel alternates between the perspectives of Emerson,
who is struggling to keep breathing on a daily basis, and Matt, who
wants to have his old best friend back so badly that he is willing to
overlook the fact that she has completely changed. Though their
friendship and relationship is a major part of the story, it takes
backseat to the unique bonds between siblings, what happens when your
worst enemy is in fact yourself, and the hardships that come with
growing up and changing.


XO Itara

6 comments:

  1. The Genesis is new to me and looks AWESOME!!!!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Love Kelley Armstrong and Patricia Briggs so I'll keep an eye out for Full Blooded. Glad The Genesis is a good one. Thanks for visiting my blog, have a great week and happy reading :)

    ReplyDelete
  3. I love the cover of That Time I Joined the Circus. I hope you are loving it!

    ReplyDelete

Thanks for stopping by and commenting, I comment and follow back so don't forget to leave me your links :)